Press Release Cast Out Upon the World

PressRelease-Wegner (2)

Click on the image to go to the press release

 

I promised (or threatened, depending on your impression of such things) that I would begin my various acts of shameless self-promotion this week.

If you click on the link next door, you can read the press release for my upcoming collection of short fiction. You can spend all the money grandma gave you for Christmas starting Jan. 30. Remember–You don’t have to read it; you just have to buy it.

As with all good things, I’ll start posting the first 100 or so words of the stories tomorrow. I had planned to begin today but it’s 6:30 and it’s been Monday all day.

Since I don’t really have anything else to write today and I’m about ready to go home and eat supper, I’ll say that I dig the cover. This picture started as a normal photo until my two sons suggested we turn it into this comic image. The porch swing, evocative of stability and familial connection, works, I think, ironically in some respects. The photo of me simply proves that I’m not photogenic.

You can’t know if the porch swing is ironic, of course, because none of you have read the stories. Of course, it’s also true that just because I wrote the stories doesn’t mean I really know what they are about either. I remember listening to a Reginald McKnight interview once. A student asked him what an image in a short story meant and he said “Kids do weird shit.” He followed by reminding the student that the writer and the critic are two separate people. When the writer begins to discuss his work, he went on, he becomes another critic. D.H. Lawrence always told us to trust the tale not the teller and Elmer Kelton used to remind audiences that story telling is just another way to tell lies.

Having written all that, tune in tomorrow for the opening 100 words or so from my collection. I’ll include some commentary about where the story started.

But I wouldn’t believe anything I write if I were you.

About John Wegner
John Wegner is a Professor of English where he also serves as the Dean of the Freshman College. He and Lana, his wife, have been married over 25 years. They are the parents of two great sons who (so far) haven't ever needed bail money.

Leave a Reply

Things I Read

And Things I Learned

Washington Monthly

Do I contradict myself? / Very well then I contradict myself, / (I am large, I contain multitudes.)

Joanne Jacobs

Thinking and Linking by Joanne Jacobs

Inside Higher Ed

Do I contradict myself? / Very well then I contradict myself, / (I am large, I contain multitudes.)

FiveThirtyEight

Do I contradict myself? / Very well then I contradict myself, / (I am large, I contain multitudes.)

Balloon Juice

Do I contradict myself? / Very well then I contradict myself, / (I am large, I contain multitudes.)

Scott Adams' Blog

Do I contradict myself? / Very well then I contradict myself, / (I am large, I contain multitudes.)

The Full Feed from HuffingtonPost.com

Do I contradict myself? / Very well then I contradict myself, / (I am large, I contain multitudes.)

